I recieved a scam domain expiry email this week – its’ content is as follows:

Unwilling to follow the bit.ly forwarding link, it is unknown what site (or malware) awaits at the other end. The “From” info was fake.

As it mentions that they accept Interac etransfer or cheque, it’s likely this entity is Canadian.

A number of years ago, CIRA suspended a Canadian registrar[1] and helped take down another site that posed as a registrar[2], both for engaging in similar activities.

Even if you receive a legitimate reminder from your domain registrar – don’t chance it, go directly to their website by typing its’ address in your browser.

Electronic scammers are becoming increasingly sophisticated, and sometimes set up webpages that may be nearly indistinguishable from the real thing. This is especially prevalent these days with phishers targetting your financial information with look-alike bank login pages.

Please comment below, if you happened to receive one of these notices and actually clicked on their link – what website did you land on?

Contact CIRA if you were misled and if your domain name was transfered to a different registrar without your intent to do so.

[1] https://www.itbusiness.ca/news/alleged-domain-slammers-lose-dot-ca-licence-sue-cira-10-million/15404

[2] https://www.itworldcanada.com/article/cira-investigating-dot-ca-phishing-scammers/46796